Tumblr Copy-Cat: New Years/ Christmas Eve Dress

Almost exactly a year ago I found this amazing dress on tumblr that I just knew I had to have for New Years. I couldn’t explain it. There was some weird desire that a dress like that just HAD to be mine. As I was a student in my first year of fashion school, money was a serious object. It didn’t help that I couldn’t find the dress anywhere. There were many lovely alternatives (just google “Sequin Dress” and you’ll see what I mean) but none of them were the “one”. Not for the prices they were asking anyways. So I took it upon myself to make it on my own. If you know much about fabric you’ll find that sequin fabric is not particularly cheap so if you ever want to endeavour in a project like this, do yourself a favour and do it early enough to start raiding the discount bins at your local fabric stores. I was lucky enough to find exactly what I needed at exactly the right price (less than $10/M is usually my goal).

As you are probably wondering what this heavenly dress looks like, I will now reveal it:

Sequin Dress

 

Yup! Extremely simple! But just the right amount of sparkle for a special night without going way over the top. SO! This is what I did.

1. Find the right pattern.

This could take some time. You might be able to do some searching at your fabric store for a good dupe of the dress you want however searching online is usually a great deal easier. I found what I needed on Burdastyle.com (the best online sewing resource in the world in my opinion). This is the pattern I used for the top, and this is the pattern I used for the skirt. The top pattern was free and the skirt pattern was $3.00. Not bad if I do say so myself!

So the fabric I bought had a little bit of stretch so I opted for getting rid of the zipper on the back and just cut that edge on the fold of my fabric. When I sewed the top and skirt together, I did a basting stitch down both seam allowances before I sewed them together and I gathered each until they matched and were the width of my waist measurement. Then I sewed them together and voila! A beautiful dress that cost me less than $25 and two hours to make!

New Years

 

Apologies for the somewhat lacking in quality picture, as it was the only one I took of the dress that day.

So there you have it! My perfectly shameless dupe of a dress I found on Tumblr, the world’s worst website for making you want things you don’t have!

This year it’s a dress I found on modcloth.com that I may or may not share with you when I find the right fabric! Until then, please share with me any dupes you’ve made of outfits you found but just could not afford. I’d love to see them!

3 thoughts on “Tumblr Copy-Cat: New Years/ Christmas Eve Dress

  1. I’m always pinning inspirational dresses to Pinterest so that one day I might make something ‘similar’ but have yet to get round to it. Hats off to you for finding what you like and going for it. Great party dress!

    • Thank you! I’m often the same way when it comes to making things for myself but for some reason I just had to have this one! Here’s hoping you find that inspirational dress that gets you started!

Leave a Reply

