Redo Your Wardrobe Series: Skirt Patterns

As an add-on to my list of basic wardrobe essentials, this substantial blogpost’s purpose is to share with you some patterns that I will be working with in the near future to work towards a wardrobe overhaul.

#1. The Pencil Skirt

The one I will be attempting is a simple skirt with a straight waist band because I love that look. I will also like to sew this one because I am sure that both will add dimension to my wardrobe. When I have time, I might even try my hand at this princess seam ditty! If you are reading this and you need the plus size version, well, here it is!

Image

#2. The Circle Skirt

This one is awesome because it’s free to draft the pattern! It’s always awesome when you can custom make clothing to your own specific measurements. Circle skirts are definitely one of the most easy pieces to draft, and look cute to boot! I’m going to also attempt to alter the drafting to make the infamous asymmetrical design that is so in right now.

Image

#3. The Maxi Skirt

Another free pattern! Maxi skirts are very easy to construct and the fabric is usually very forgiving. I’ll be posting a simple DIY tutorial when I begin making this amazing basic wardrobe staple so that it’s easy for you! I also came across this plus sized elasticized pattern which could easily be altered for what ever size you are.

Image

So there you have it! Three basic staples that can be mixed and matched any which way. Any colour you desire. Skirts are the easiest thing to make so whether you’ve been sewing all your life or you just started as a cheaper alternative to your shopping addiction, I’m here to help you out! These skirts are flattering on all figure types and can be changed by accessorizing for different occasions. Different fabrics can be used to alter the design as well as some basic drafting techniques that I’ll share once we cross that bridge.

As always, thanks for reading and I hope you look forward to the next blog post on top patterns coming soon!

Leave a Reply

